Computers and the History of Art               

Helene Roberts Bursary

CHArt has established this bursary in 2009 in memory of its long-standing member, Helene Roberts (1931–2008). She was a scholar with special interest in nineteenth-century art, Head of Visual Collections of the Fine Arts Library, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts and Senior Editor of Visual Resources, An International Journal of Documentation. The aim of the Helene Roberts bursary is to enable up to four students to participate in the CHArt annual conference free of charge. The bursary for three students is sponsored by Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and includes an annual subscription to Visual Resources. Each award holder receives five back issues of The Computers and the History of Art.

No direct payment is made to the recipient. The bursary cannot be used to cover other costs such as travel or accommodation. Each application is assessed by the CHArt Committee. The bursary is offered in good faith, subject to eligibility. The decision of the assessing panel is final. Priority is given to students who have submitted a paper proposal and had it accepted for presentation at the CHArt annual conference. CHArt reserves the right to periodically revise the conditions of this bursary and to publish the names of bursary recipients. CHArt will request that the recipient of the bursary writes a short review of the CHArt conference. CHArt reserves the right to publish the review. Reviews by former recipients are available online in the CHArt Newsletter.

For more information and to request the application form please contact Anna Bentkowska-Kafel at
Applications are no longer being accepted for the 2015 conference.


Gabriel Menotti Gonring, Media and Communications, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK
Alex McLean, Arts and Computational Technology, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK
Frédérik Lesage, Department of Media and Communications, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK


Brett Aggersberg, PhD student, Swansea Metropolitan University, UK
Tracy Piper-Wright, PhD student, School of Art & Design, Glyndwr University, UK
Carla Cesare, PhD Design History, Northumbria University, UK
Rod Dioso, MPhil/PhD Arts & Computational Technology, Goldsmiths, University of London


Emma S. Balkind, MA Contemporary Art Theory, Edinburgh College of Art, Scotland
Gavin MacDonald, PhD, Manchester School of Art, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK
David Trujillo, Art History graduate, University of Notre Dame, Indiana, US


Kevin Day, MFA in Visual Arts, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
Alessandra von Aesch, MA student from the University of Lugano, Switzerland
Bianca Bocatius, a PhD student at the Heinrich-Heine University of Düsseldorf, Germany
Oonagh Murphy, PhD in Museums and Digital Culture, University of Ulster, Northern Ireland


Caroline Claisse, MA Information Experience Design, Royal College of Art, London, UK
Chia-Ling Lee, Art & Art Education of College Teaching, Columbia University, New York City
Jessie Robertson, PhD History of Art, Courtauld Institute of Art, London, UK

Anyone wishing to contribute to the Helene Roberts bursary, to enable more students to benefit from this scheme, is requested to get in touch with the CHArt Committee,

Back to CHArt Home Page